750 Words

Yesterday, I discovered a new Web site.  A writing site, designed for the sole purpose of getting people in the habit of simply putting words down on paper (well technically, the Internet). Every day.

750 words per day, to be exact.

The author of the site says 750 words averages out to be about three pages of typed text. So he encourages people to just write. No prompts, no themes. Just put down 750 words, come back tomorrow, and do the same thing. The site will even send you an e-mail reminder every morning to get your butt to the computer and write your words.

They also have a month-long challenge to see who can commit to writing three pages a day for an entire month. If you fail, you get put on the Wall of Shame, which is pretty awesome, if you ask me. But you don’t have to participate in the challenge, if you don’t want, because some people probably don’t like the idea of being shamed in public. Really, all you have to do is write as often as you can.

As I said, I only discovered the site yesterday, so I’m not 100% sure of all the features, but that’s the basic concept. They track your stats–how many words you average a day, how long it takes you to get to your 750, how many breaks you take while writing, and how distracted you are (how many times you stop typing but don’t leave the page–I think). It even analyzes your words and looks for common themes, summarizing your popular topics and what type of mood they think you were in while you were writing your words.

Technically, there is a disclaimer to not read too much into that portion of it, but I think it’s pretty cool.

But this site could not have come at a better time. I just wrote about how badly I want to keep writing about my issues with finding what I want to do in life. And what better way to do that than force myself to just sit down and churn out the sentences? It doesn’t really matter if they make sense or if my word choice is perfect. Good grammar isn’t going to win me any points there. (But they do keep score. Seriously. It’s fantastic.)

I’m not even clear on whether or not other people can see the things you write. I know there is a sharing feature, but I haven’t looked into it enough to really know how it works. I just know that I found the site, and within the hour I was signed up and had started writing for the day. And now I’m telling you about it.

So go check it out, if writing is your thing!

Also, I posted on this yesterday…but I made a Facebook page. Not quite sure how I’ll use it just yet, but I’d for sure love your support!

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “750 Words

  1. [...] 750 Words (thelamppostblogs.wordpress.com) [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 38 other followers

