Quarter-Life Crisis?

If you know me at all, you know I have a thing for baking. For creating things and sharing them with the people that I love. So it should come as no surprise that I have a slight obsession with Joy the Baker.

Her blog is one of the first I started reading when I wanted to learn more about baking and blogging. She is funny, touching, and takes amazing photos.  So when I found out she has a podcast on Homefries with Tracy from Shutterbean, I was all over it.

These girls are hilarious. They seem to have a genuine connection with their listeners, and they really care what people have to say about their podcasts.

That’s was why today’s episode really resonated with me. Among other (totally important, unimportant) things, Joy and Tracy talked about having a quarter-life crisis.

I’m only 24. I know, a little early to be freaking out about the direction my life is headed. But isn’t that the definition of a quarter-life crisis? To be young and confused and not know what you want from life? Joy and Tracy think so. And I kind of take their word as gospel.

Oh, and the JTB podcast has a theme song. How amazing is that??

But that’s not the point. I have a great life. I have the world’s best family, a great best friend, a super awesome boyfriend. I just coached a fantastic group of 14-year-old volleyball players. I play volleyball myself with some cool people. I have a job that is getting me some great experience in my chosen field.

So what is my problem?

I don’t know what I want. I know what I’ll need to do once I figure it out–hard work, dedication, creativity, long hours, blah blah blah. I’m more than ready to do that. But how do I get there?

Indianapolis is a great city, and I’m so glad to be living here right now. But I don’t feel like this is the place for me, forever.

Then the question becomes where would I go? So many cities sound amazing. East Coast, West Coast, tons of places in between. Boston. Baltimore. The entire state of Colorado. I’ve already picked up my things and moved to a place where I didn’t know anyone. Could I do it again? Not yet, I don’t think. There are still a few things left in Indianapolis for me.

Maybe some time soon though. It would be hard to leave my little apartment and the people I work with. This is the very first city that I’ve ever lived in that I actually know how to get around. (I’ve always been a little directionally challenged…)

Are those good enough reasons to stay in a place? Is this a real quarter-life crisis? I don’t know. But I do know that questioning what I want is the only real way to get to where I’m headed. Even if I don’t know where that place is just yet.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

