7 Reasons Why Living Alone Rocks

Two years ago, I would absolutely never have been writing this post. I was gearing up for my last semester of college–one more semester than almost all of my friends–and I was going to be living alone for the first time. I was dreading it every second.

I had just been dumped by my boyfriend (technically we were “taking a break”), my friends had all moved home, and I just KNEW I was going to be miserable.

Turns out, I could not have been more wrong. I still hung out with my kind of boyfriend. My now-best friend and I solidified the fact that we are going to be BFFs for life. I got one more semester to work and bond with some of the most awesome coworkers I could have asked for. And I realized how much I kind of love living alone.

Now that I’m still living the life of a roommate-less 20 something in the big city (Indianapolis counts as “the big city,” right??), it has become even more obvious how much living by myself absolutely rocks.

1. Cleaning up becomes a matter of what I can stand rather than what is going to get under someone else’s skin. I’m one of those people who stress cleans. When the world becomes a little too overwhelming, I just start cleaning things until my physical surroundings are spotless. But when things are going well, that means cleaning kinda becomes less of a requirement. No roommates means not worrying about how much your mess is annoying those around you.

2. You can throw awesome parties and not have to worry about pissing off your roommates. Now, this isn’t as awesome now as it was when I was in college, but it definitely still rocks. Want to have people over and sing “Piano Man” by Billy Joel until 4am? Then decide to stay up until 6 so you can go get McDonald’s breakfast as soon as they start serving it? Go for it. Living alone has taught me I don’t have to stop worrying about keeping someone else awake.

3. Inviting people over and not having to OK it with someone else. Letting someone crash on your couch (or in your bed…) is a hundred times easier when you live alone. While you may not need a roommate’s express written permission to have people over, it’s always nice to give them a heads up that they may be sharing the bathroom with more than just you in the morning.

4. Not having to share your food. For me, this one is a double-edged sword. While I love hoarding my favorite things all for myself, it also becomes problematic when most things I cook/bake contain massive amounts of butter, sugar, and/or cheese. But now I only have to share on my own terms. Like how I can bring things to my coworkers after I’ve eaten nine of those 12 delicious cupcakes.

5. Watching whatever TV you want and not having to explain your taste to anyone. Granted, it may not all be judge-worthy, but as you can probably tell from reading this blog, the amount of Olympic coverage I watched was STAGGERING. Add to that my love of all things Food Network, So You Think You Can Dance, and MLB baseball, and my TV habits are questionable at best.

6. Showering becomes…optional. Now, I’m not talking about when I go out in public. If I am going to be out in the world and interacting with people, then I definitely still shower. But if I know I’m going to sit on the couch and watch TV (see #5) and nap all weekend, you can bet I’m not bathing til at least Sunday afternoon.

7. Pants? What pants? Let’s be real. This is the number one reason why living alone rocks.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “7 Reasons Why Living Alone Rocks

  1. Ché says:

    I live with two male roommates and let me tell you, now that we’ve entered our second year together, I am counting the days until I can live alone. For me though, it’s more because their version of “clean” is a far cry from mine. And it’s their 4 AM drunken videogame battles that keep ME awake.

    But I also know once we part ways, I’ll miss their mess (maybe).

Leave a Reply

