My Favorite Granola

As far as weekday breakfasts go, I have a few staples that I keep coming back to. Green smoothies, bagels with cream cheese, and granola. Sure, I love normal cold cereals, but there’s something about the crunch of granola that just draws me in every time.

For as long as I’ve been eating granola, I’ve been making my own. I know a lot of people have their favorite store-bought brands, but I’ve never really been interested. This version from Alton Brown has always been my go-to. I have tried a couple of other recipes as I’ve seen them pop up on various blogs, but they have always left me underwhelmed. My mistake–I should have known better than to doubt Alton.

Over the years, I’ve tweaked the recipe a bit from the original. For the longest time, I left out the coconut, because I was a crazy person who thought coconut was real gross. I’ve learned my lesson for sure.

The recipe is easily adaptable–feel free to swap in whatever nuts you have on hand or throw in some chocolate chunks or dried fruit after the granola has cooled. The last time I made it, I switched up the maple syrup for a half syrup, half honey blend (since I was somehow dangerously low on maple syrup), and I found that I definitely prefer the all syrup version much better.

Granola
Adapted from Alton Brown

  • 3 cups rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup whole almonds
  • 3/4 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1 cup shredded sweet coconut
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt

1. Preheat oven to 250°.
2. In a large bowl, combine oats, nuts, coconut, brown sugar, and salt.
3. Form a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and add the maple syrup and vegetable oil. Mix to combine.
4. Divide the mixture between two large sheet pans. Bake for 1 hour and 15 minutes, stirring the granola and rotating the pans every 15 minutes to ensure it browns evenly.
5. Let cool and enjoy over yogurt or ice cream, with milk as cereal, or as a delicious alternative to trail mix.

I highly recommend doubling this recipe, it goes fast!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

