Consolation Prize

Things don’t always go the way we want. We can try and try, but sometimes we realize we just aren’t meant to travel the path we have set ourselves on.

Today is that day. Now is the time to retrace my steps back up that path I’d been traveling for the last 6 months and start again on a new one. It’s hard and it hurts and I have no clue what will come next.

But today I will also watch football and lay on my couch with the windows open. I have butter softening on the counter and my ice cream maker chilling in the freezer. I’m going to make a huge mess of my kitchen and make myself feel better.

While I’m not always sure what the future will hold, at least I know today will have cookies and ice cream. And that’s enough for now.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

