Have You Voted?

image

Indiana thinks I count.

I don’t (and probably never will) write a lot on here about politics. I have my opinions just as you have yours, and I don’t see this space as a good place to hash out our differences.

But today is different. Today is the day when we all come together and decide the future of not only our country, but also our states and local communities. There is more to this election than Barack Obama and Mitt Romney. There are Senate and House races, gubernatorial (which is possibly my favorite word in politics, ever) races, and even races to decide who will judge our court cases and who will run our schools as superintendents.

Choosing not to vote is choosing to say “I don’t care about the people in my country, my state, or my community. What happens to them doesn’t matter to me, so they’re on their own.” It’s like giving a big “F you” to the people counting on us to make the right decisions that will affect all of our futures.

I don’t care that you are sick and tired of all the political ads and mudslinging that have accompanied this campaign season. You aren’t the only one, I promise. I know. It’s a nightmare to listen to the same ads over and over again, both at the local and national levels, and we’re all ready for it to be over. But there are two very distinct paths laid out for our country, and it’s up to all of us to decide which path we are going to follow.

Please. Just go out and vote. It doesn’t matter to me if you vote the same way I did or have entirely different views. That’s the beauty of democracy–we are all entitled to our opinions, and we have the amazing opportunity for those opinions to be heard. But you actually have to show up first.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

