Homemade Dinosaur Ornaments

If you know me very well at all, you know I’ve kinda got a thing for dinosaurs. I know. Kind of a 5-year-old boyish obsession to have, but it’s not my fault! They’re super awesome. Ferocious while still being amazingly cute. Stars of such movies as Jurassic Park and The Land Before Time. What’s not to love, really?

121212_0009

Now that I’ve actually got a Christmas tree for my apartment (albeit a pretty darn tiny one), I knew I needed to get myself some ornaments that are unique and more modernly me. I’ve got a ton of things from when I was younger, both ones that I’d received as gifts and ones I’d made myself, but let’s be honest. The tree was severely lacking in the dinosaur department.

Enter these guys.

inspiration

Since he’s all kinds of fabulous, my boyfriend sent me the link to them nearly a month ago, and I haven’t been able to get those glittery, wreath-necklace-wearing dinosaurs off my mind since.

Tonight I finally decided to do something about it. The originals are something like $16 each, which is absurd. I had to make them myself, obvs.

I knew I wouldn’t be able to pull off the wreaths–I’m crafty, but I’m not that good–so I settled for just completely plastering the things with glitter. Yep. That would be just fine by me.

Glitter, Mod Podge, and a hot glue gun–my crafting trifecta. Hallelujah!

Here’s what you need.

materials

Toy dinosaurs of your chosen size and breed–mine are from the Dollar Store. Mod Podge (I buy the off brand because I’m cheap). Glitter. A paint brush. Hot glue gun. Strings for hanging from the tree branches.

Confession time you guys. I had every intention of making this a step by step tutorial. But literally as soon as I got started, I was pretty much up to my elbows in glue and glitter. Not exactly a good recipe for snapping a ton of shots with my super fancy camera phone. Let’s be real though. If you need me to show you how to paint Mod Podge onto a toy dinosaur before pouring glitter over it, then you may be in more trouble than we realized.

So here is my first dino, covered in glitter and awaiting his string:

glitter

Seriously, I’m in love. Like, a giddy, giggling alone in my apartment, clapping my hands at his adorableness, sort of in love. Triceratops are kind of my favorites. I’m not sorry. T-rexes are dumb. Brontosaurus are cool, but Cera all the way, baby.

Once your glittery creations are completely dry (Don’t rush it! You’ll just end up with glitter and Mod Podge all over yourself and NOT on your dino anymore. Not that I speak from experience…), hot glue that string on and freak out about how seriously adorable they are.

group

It was way hard to stop myself at only five. I think I see more glitter dinosaurs in my future…

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Homemade Dinosaur Ornaments

Leave a Reply

